Last week I experienced my first earthquake. While they have happened since I’ve lived in California and apparently I hadn’t developed the sensitivity to feel them. To be frightenly honest, it gave me quite a scare. I was still shaking for hours after the first one (literally and figuratively with aftershocks), and then the second one hit and I wondered if I should take my parents’ offer to live in the basement.

The first one occurred around 2:41 p.m. during my Integral Philosophy class. For some reason my stomach was growling and gurgling loudly before then and I want to think it either predicted the earthquake, or caused it. Just like the chicken and the egg koan, one cannot know. During the three seconds of shaking it was just long enough for someone in the class to yell, “This is the big one!” That line was just enough to make me nervous enough and cause a nice adrenaline rush.

The second “aftershock” was almost as large and happened and happened around 8:21 p.m. as I was getting ready to meet up with a friend. My initial reaction was to put on my slippers and grab my scarf. I’m hoping if the “big one” does hit I will at least think to grab my iPhone and hide under a table.

(Photo: National Geographic online)

Leave a Reply

