It’s New Year’s Eve and while this post should probably be about my resolutions or goals, but instead I opted to talk about a book (yet another book I have read as a part of my solo book club). The thing is that lately I’m really enjoying the books of female comedians. I went though a phase after my improv class where I worried women weren’t funny (for the record there were mostly men in the comedic community). With Tina Fey, Chelsea Handler, Sarah Silverman, Ellen DeGeneres, and now Mindy Kaling, I feel very much revived in my sense of humor and more confident that it was just a miserable phase I had spending too much time with “dudes who do comedy.” For those of you unfamiliar with The Office star and writer Mindy, now’s the time to familarize yourself before you sound stupid at a dinner party with funny people.

I just finished Kaling’s book “Is Everyone Hanging Out Without Me? (and Other Concerns)” instead of the insightful philosophical books I should be reading to sound smarter in my  classes.  She’s really funny and by funny I mean witty and someone I would want to be best friends with. She even lists the alternate titles for her books (such as “The Girl with No Tattoo” or “So You’ve Just Finished Chelsea Handler’s Book, Now What?”), which is when I knew to continue reading hers.  The book made me giggle, laugh, and I think even snort once or twice.

Mindy’s book isn’t a life story with a plot, but similar to Chelsea’s and Ellen’s a collection of stories and even essays. What I gathered from the reading was that 1) she is funny 2) she works hard 3) she likes shopping 4) she’s a romantic at heart. Hmm, that is probably all I needed to know for us to be best friends. With that said I will do my best to accomplish an “Irish exit” via blog post and head to the bathroom.

Leave a Reply

