According to FB, and other sources, today is the 100th anniversary of the Titanic hitting the iceberg (insert Celene Dion song, which might be in poor taste, but it is so iconic I can’t resist) AND the 100th birthday of my favorite photographer Robert Doisneau. His photographs captured the beauty of Paris in the 1930s with quirk and silliness. I used to hang them in my apartment before I moved and now have no idea where they are. Alas, today feels an important day of noting how much things have changed (and yet not changed) in the past 100 years. The Titanic tragedy still remains an important part of history today (I think James Cameron had something to do with this)  and Robert Doisneau’s photo still warms people’s hearts, including my own.

Leave a Reply

