945414_10152772637455291_133914044_nI “cat”n’t promise that every post from here on out won’t be about cats, or that Iwon’t continuously make stupid jokes about them. For so long I’ve thought I was a dog person, but as a friend of mine pointed out, I was a crazy cat lady without a cat. Now that I have one (for exactly a month today!?) I suppose it just makes my title official.

There’s just something about pussy cats…especially mine. Last week I had a friend over for a meet and greet with my kitty and to catch up. Towards the end of the evening she and I pulled out my “goddess guidance” deck (everyone should have one). As she was about to choose one she asked Freyja if she wanted to, my kitty pulled one out by her teeth and it was Bast, the Egyptian cat goddess. It seemed too purrrfect (sorry I couldn’t resist) to be a simple coincidence. 

Here’s what the card said:Bast

“Like the cat you’re fiercely independent, yet you also need affection and playful companions. Now is the time to balance your social interactions with solitude. While you may ask others for their opinions, ultimately you must make the decisions. Your freedom and independence are top priorities, so ensure these characteristics are nurtured.”

As suspected, my cat has much to teach me…in fact much to teach all of us. It isn’t surprising to me that cats were worshiped as gods 6,000 years ago in ancient Egypt. (Seeing the Sphinx as a little girl may have affected my love for them even today.) I believe they are also making a comeback…proven by the recent Cat Museum efforts, Cat Video Film Fest, and cat memes and videos all over the Internet. I find it safe to say there are more crazy cat ladies, like myself, than ever before.

The-Internet-is-a-lot-Like-Ancient-EgyptCats possess a really strange combination of qualities so different from a dog or any other animal.Even Mark Twain had something to say about them, “Of all God’s creatures there is only one that cannot be made the slave of the lash. That one is the cat. If man could be crossed with the cat it would improve man, but would deteriorate the cat.”

Yes, anyone who has owned a cat knows they are un-tameable. They don’t teach us unconditional love like dogs, as they have no desire to please us (I spend a lot time trying to make my kitty happy). Cats teach us the love of acceptance in another being, for the most part I can’t train or make my cat anything she is not. I truly have to accept her as she is….when she would rather play than cuddle, or eat than let me sleep… To me cats represent one of the truest forms of the divine feminine in existence with their fierce, graceful, playful,  loving, and independent nature. In total honesty, I want to be more like my cat. At this point, I think it is safe to say I am a modern-day Bast worshipper…and so is the Internet, and many of my  friends (even if they aren’t willing to admit it).

Leave a Reply

